Skip to main content

About Twelve Angry Men


28th Sept to 5th October 2013

  • Location: Courthouse Theatre

  • Genre: Drama

  • Playwright: Reginald Rose

  • Director: Peter Tulloch



Reg Mowat


Andrew Fry


Brian McClelland


Michael Zala


Kaine Hansen


Tim Gay


Matt Noble


Lee Taylor


Tony McGuiness


Daniel West


Andrew Seeary


Fred Fargher


Brendan Bawden


John Daykin


Sam O’Brien


  • Directed By

    Peter Tulloch

  • Directors Assistant

    Carly MacDonald

  • Stage Manager

    Beth Foyster

  • Deputy Stage Manager and Lighting Operator

    Savannah Clark

  • Lighting

    Julian Oldfield, Zac Jones and Cameron Thomson

  • Sound
    Michael Zala
  • Table Constructions
    Jim Muller and Lyle Quick
  • Costumes
    Kate Sullivan
  • Props
    Joanne Humphery
  • Graphics
    Wayne Hines
  • Image Finders
    Andrew Seery
  • Photography
    Gary Hunt
  • Frount of House
    Yvonne Downing and BNT members
  • Pre Production
    Yvonne and Ivan Downing, Fred Fargher, Tim Gay, Brian McClelland, Tony McGuinness, Julian Oldfield, Ken Prato, Andrew Seeary, Lee Taylor, Peter Tulloch, Michael Zala and Peter Zala



    Reviewer: Gail Sjogren

    The Verdict is in!
    Ballarat National Theatre’s current production of Twelve Angry Men is guilty of being an outstanding theatrical experience, bringing the acting talents of thirteen of our best male actors to the stage in a gripping portrayal of the tensions of the jury room.

    Brought together to deliberate on the guilt or innocence of a young man charged with stabbing his father, eleven of the jurors have no doubt that he did the deed. Only one hesitates, and argues for a discussion and review of the evidence. That may sound less than exciting but as the discussion develops, so does the tension. Tempers flare, personal prejudices are revealed, arguments grow ever more heated and the audience is riveted by the unfolding drama.

    There is no set other than the tables and chairs and no gimmicks, just outstanding acting from all involved. The jury members are referred to only by their numbers and not their names yet their individuality is never in doubt. Central to the drama is Juror Number 8 played with consummate control by Andrew Seeary. His feeling that there may be some ‘reasonable doubt’ in the case prompts a range of reactions from reasoned to outraged. Tim Gay and Brendan Bawden are impressively angry, and jury foreman Michael Zala has his work cut out to control the situation. The other jurors played by Kaine Hansen, Matt Noble, Lee Taylor, Tony McGuiness, Daniel West, Fred Fargher, John Daykin and Sam O’Brien gradually reveal their various prejudices and life experiences as they struggle with the difficult decision they must make.

    Director Peter Tulloch has drawn on the wide range of acting talent in Ballarat to create a memorable and thought provoking production. I feared that my memory of the film from long ago would lessen my sense of involvement, but despite knowing the outcome I was totally immersed in the unfolding drama. My companion, who had not seen the film, was even more impressed and declared this production one of the best ever. We both recommend it unreservedly.