Ballarat National Theatre

old bnt production logo



Performance Dates



Baines the Butler Peter Nethercote
Lord Arthur Savile   Hadley Thomson
Sybil Merton Liesl Vanderkley
The Dean of Paddington   Paul Rose
Lady Windermere Jane Gaylor
Lady Beauchamp Wendy Holgate
Lady Julia Merton Jill Dunne
Mr Podgers Haydn Vincent
Nellie the Maid Peppa Sindar
Herr Winkelkopf Mark Kuntsi


Directed By Julian Oldfield
Adapted by Constance Cox from the story by Oscar Wilde
Costumes Peter Nethercote and Kate Sullivan
Stage Manager Sally Read
Deputy Stage Manager Savannah Clark
Switchboard Andrew Hill
Crew Zac Jones, Daikota Gerrett and Sam Sonter
Sound Michael Zala
Graphics Wayne Hines
Photography Gary Hunt
Frount of House Yvonne Downing and BNT members
Pre Production Yvonne and Ivan Downing, Michael Dunne, David Dusting, Wendy Hall, Tim Gay, Mark Kumsti, Brian and Marg McClelland, Tony McGuinness, Peter Nethercote, Matt Noble, Julian Oldfield, Ken Prato, Paul Rose, Hedley Thomson, Graeme Walker, Michael Zala and Peter Zala.


Peter Nethercote

Peter Nethercote

Plays Baines the Butler
Hedley Thomson

Hedley Thomson

Plays Lord Arthur Savile
Liesl Vanderkley

Liesl Vanderkley

Plays Sybil Merton
Paul Rose

Paul Rose

Plays The Dean of Paddington
Jane Gaylor

Jane Gaylor

Plays Lady Windermere
Wendy Holgate

Wendy Holgate

Plays Lady Beauchamp
Jill Dunne

Jill Dunne

Plays Lady Julia Merton
Haydn Vincent

Haydn Vincent

Plays Mr Podgers
Peppa Sindar

Peppa Sindar

Plays Nellie the Maid
Mark Kuntsi

Mark Kuntsi

Plays Herr Winkelkopf


Lord Arthur Saviles Crime Program 13
Lord Arthur Saviles Crime Program 14
Lord Arthur Saviles Crime Program 15
Lord Arthur Saviles Crime Program 16
Lord Arthur Saviles Crime Program 17
Lord Arthur Saviles Crime Program 18
Lord Arthur Saviles Crime Program 19
Lord Arthur Saviles Crime Program 22
Lord Arthur Saviles Crime Program 24
Lord Arthur Saviles Crime Program 28
Lord Arthur Saviles Crime Program 29
Lord Arthur Saviles Crime Program 30
Lord Arthur Gallery 01


Reviewer: Gail Sjogren

A Night of Wilde Laughter

The plays of Oscar Wilde can always be relied upon for swift and witty repartee, wonderfully larger than life characters and gently biting satire on marriage, the aristocracy and society in general. BNT’s current production of Lord Arthur Savile’s Crime delivers all these and more in an elegant period setting with a very strong cast.

Lord Arthur, handsome, charming, wealthy and lovesick, must for reasons which soon become apparent, commit a murder before he can marry the beautiful but rather dizzy Sybil Merton. Hedley Thomson, playing Lord Arthur, is rarely offstage and delivers a virtuoso performance which almost persuades an audience to accept this unlikely premise. Liesl Vanderkley is a simpering Sybil, a fitting mate for the hapless lord.

It is the butler, Baines, who clearly has control of the household and Peter Nethercote makes the most of every facet of the character, a fitting foil for Lord Arthur. The interplay between these two very experienced actors is a joy to watch. In best Wilde tradition, Lord Arthur’s union with Sybil is seen with great suspicion by her overbearing mother, a role which Jill Dunne clearly enjoys to the utmost.

Adding to the fun are Lord Arthur’s aunts, Lady Windermere and Lady Beauchamp, played by Jane Gaylor and Wendy Holgate, his uncle the Dean played by Paul Rose and a wonderful pair of eccentrics, a crazy anarchist played by Mark Kuntski and a suavely persuasive palm reader played by Haydn Vincent. Peppa Sindar completes the ensemble as Nellie the maid, making a sly play for Baines.

The play is a visual delight with an evocative period setting and wonderful costumes, designed by Peter Nethercote and Kate Sullivan, bringing to life all the elegance of the period. Director Julian Oldfield has ensured that the final production of this, BNT’s 75th Anniversary Season, will be enjoyed by young and old.


This is the HTML version of Lord Arthur Savile's Crime Page 1
To view this content in Flash, you must have version 8 or greater and Javascript must be enabled. To download the last Flash player click here