Ballarat National Theatre

old bnt production logo



Performance Dates



Judge Reg Mowat
Clerk   Andrew Fry
Guard Brian McClelland
Jurors   Michael Zala
Kaine Hansen
Tim Gay
Matt Noble
Lee Taylor
Tony McGuiness
Daniel West
Andrew Seeary
Fred Fargher
Brendan Bawden
John Daykin
Sam O’Brien


Directed By Peter Tulloch
Adapted by Sherman Sergel from the Emmy Award winning movie by Reginald Rose
Directors Assistant Carly MacDonald
Stage Manager Beth Foyster
Deputy Stage Manager and Lighting Operator Savannah Clark
Lighting Julian Oldfield, Zac Jones and Cameron Thomson
Sound Michael Zala
Table Constructions Jim Muller and Lyle Quick
Costumes Kate Sullivan
Props Joanne Humphery
Graphics Wayne Hines
Image Finders Andrew Seery
Photography Gary Hunt
Frount of House Yvonne Downing and BNT members
Pre Production Yvonne and Ivan Downing, Fred Fargher, Tim Gay, Brian McClelland, Tony McGuinness, Julian Oldfield, Ken Prato, Andrew Seeary, Lee Taylor, Peter Tulloch, Michael Zala and Peter Zala


pdfClick Here to view the Program


Angry Men 01
Angry Men 02
Angry Men 03
Angry Men 04
Angry Men 05
Angry Men 06
Angry Men 07
Angry Men 08
Angry Men 09
Angry Men 10
Angry Men 11
Angry Men 12
Angry Men 13
Angry Men 14
Angry Men 15
Angry Men 16
Angry Men 17
Angry Men 18
Angry Men 19
Angry Men 20
Angry Men 21
Angry Men 22
Angry Men 23
Angry Men 24
Angry Men 25
Angry Men 26
Angry Men 27
Angry Men 28


Theatre Review

Reviewer: Gail Sjogren

The Verdict is in!
Ballarat National Theatre’s current production of Twelve Angry Men is guilty of being an outstanding theatrical experience, bringing the acting talents of thirteen of our best male actors to the stage in a gripping portrayal of the tensions of the jury room.

Brought together to deliberate on the guilt or innocence of a young man charged with stabbing his father, eleven of the jurors have no doubt that he did the deed. Only one hesitates, and argues for a discussion and review of the evidence. That may sound less than exciting but as the discussion develops, so does the tension. Tempers flare, personal prejudices are revealed, arguments grow ever more heated and the audience is riveted by the unfolding drama.

There is no set other than the tables and chairs and no gimmicks, just outstanding acting from all involved. The jury members are referred to only by their numbers and not their names yet their individuality is never in doubt. Central to the drama is Juror Number 8 played with consummate control by Andrew Seeary. His feeling that there may be some ‘reasonable doubt’ in the case prompts a range of reactions from reasoned to outraged. Tim Gay and Brendan Bawden are impressively angry, and jury foreman Michael Zala has his work cut out to control the situation. The other jurors played by Kaine Hansen, Matt Noble, Lee Taylor, Tony McGuiness, Daniel West, Fred Fargher, John Daykin and Sam O’Brien gradually reveal their various prejudices and life experiences as they struggle with the difficult decision they must make.

Director Peter Tulloch has drawn on the wide range of acting talent in Ballarat to create a memorable and thought provoking production. I feared that my memory of the film from long ago would lessen my sense of involvement, but despite knowing the outcome I was totally immersed in the unfolding drama. My companion, who had not seen the film, was even more impressed and declared this production one of the best ever. We both recommend it unreservedly.